Document 2003


Document 2003

Directed and Produced by
Tina DiFeliciantonio & Jane C. Wagner

Produced for the Sundance Channel

For 21 years, the International Documentary Association has promoted non-fiction film and video by honoring the distinguished documentary films of the past year. Document 2003 highlights the following award-winners (listed in order of appearance):

Short Documentary Award:

Chavez Ravine: A Los Angeles Story tells the bittersweet story of how an American community was betrayed by greed, political hypocrisy and good intentions gone astray. Directed by Jordan Mechner.

Emmitt Till
Continuing Series Award:

The American Experience: The Murder of Emmett Till is a retelling of a pivotal event in the birth of the civil-rights movement. Directed and produced by Stanley Nelson.

Pare Lorentz Award:

Berga: Soldiers of Another War tells the story of American prisoners of war caught in the tragedy of the Holocaust. Produced by Grace Guggenheim.


The work of Alex Rivera, winner of the Jacqueline Donnet Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award.

The following filmmakers also appear:

Career Achievement Award
Sir David Attenborough, Producer/Director

Pioneer Award
Mel Stuart, Producer/Director

Preservation & Scholarship Award
Michael Rabiger, Author/Film Professor

Feature Documentary Award
Balseros, Carlos Bosch, Director

ABC NEWS VideoSource Award
Bus 174, Jose Padilha, Director

Limited Series Award
The Rise and Fall of Jim Crow, Bill Jersey &
Richard Wormser, Directors/Producers

David L. Wolper Student Achievement Award
Waiting For Spring, Sue-Yeon Jung, Director

Doc Day